The Lego Movie Review

After 3 months of waiting, I finally got to see this film. Lego’s were an integral part of my childhood and I still play with them whenever I get the chance, so it wasn’t a surprise to many when they got to know that I was really excited to see this film. The Lego Movie is an animated comedy that definitely deserves a huge round of applause and appreciation for being a good start for movies that are to come out in 2014. Let me just start of by saying that this is one of the most fresh, original and hilarious comedies to have come out in a long time. For this review, since I loved it so much, I wasn’t able to categorise my opinions, so the review will be in paragraphs and not the pros and cons list that I have used for my previous reviews.

The Lego Movie is one of the rare movies that despite having such an absurd plot and makes use of it cleverly. The story is about a local construction worker Emmet (voiced by Chris Pratt) who, after a series of unfortunate events turns out to be “The Special” according to the prophecy, said by the master-builder Vitruvius (voiced by Morgan Freeman). Emmet, who obviously believes that it is a mistake, goes on an adventure to save the Lego-World with Vitruvius, Batman (Will Arnett) and Wyldstyle (Elizabeth Banks) from the evil plans of Lord Business (Will Ferrell).

Yes, the plot sounds absurd and uninteresting at the same time, but the directors (Phil Lord and Chris Miller) know that very well and decide to masterfully blend humour and a few touching moments. There are so many references to clichés and pop-culture that many people know and the movie decides to poke fun at them with a lot of laugh-a-minute gags. The film is fast paced, so you have to listen to what they are saying if you want to get the joke. The movie kicks in its adventure within the first 10 minutes and proves to be a very effective one. The voice acting was top notch, especially Liam Neeson’s as Good Cop/Bad Cop and Chris Pratt’s as the main character Emmet. What surprised me most was how thoughtful the story really was and the heart-warming message it provided by the end of the film.

The animation is breath taking and the Lego sets that were made for this film were excellent, if you know what Legos are, and you watch this movie, you would probably know how hard it really was to create the sets and use Stop Motion animation with computer Graphics at its aid to animate the movements of the characters. It was something inventive and new, something that I hadn’t seen in a very long time and I thank this movie for giving me that. The 3-D is useful and was fun to watch those tiny yellow hands come out of the screen. The screenplay was excellent and I am going to use this word again ‘clever’. The movie is an example of good comedic writing. It has many ‘I-see-what-you-did-there’ jokes and they just make sure you smile throughout the film.

Beneath all the comedy and the spoofs of modern cultures and poking fun at how absurd it really is, The Lego Movie has this beautiful message it wants to give out, that everyone is special, in a very funny way, but in a thoughtful one. It has a small emotional centre that exists in the film for everyone to understand, how special you can really be. That itself deserves a thumbs up.

With so many clever lines, absurd but hilarious plots, inventive action sequences (yeah, it has a lot of those), A-list voice actors, touching moments. The Lego Movie is a great start for the year of 2014 in movies and one of the best family films to have come up in a long time (I will say this, it is NOT only a kid’s movie, there are a many jokes the adults and the teens will get). It is definitely another talented showcase for the directors Phil Lord and Chris Miller, both of whom directed 21 Jump Street (2012) and Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs (2009) who are turning out to be really good comedic movie makers and let’s just hope they come up with more good movies to come up with.

Being one of the best comedies I have seen, The Lego Movie earns a 4 and everything is awesome.

Final Rating: 4/5 stars

Also, this will be my final blog until the end of February, due to my exams, but when I get back, you are going to hear a lot from me, especially about the Oscars. Thank you to anyone who is reading this, you are the reason I do this, thank you so much. I’ll be back.

Until the next blog.

 

Leave a Reply

