The 5 BEST Movies of 2015 so far you simply CANNOT miss…

So far, 2015 has been a rather strange year, with many unexpected surprises (like Mad Max: Fury Road) and many unexpected disappointments (likeTomorrowland). It has been a bit of a mix, but that doesn’t have to be a bad thing. This year has had great films that weren’t traditional (like Oscar bait films, dramas, romances, etc.). It’s been a year where we got something new and fresh, particularly in the action genre (I love action, so yeah, that is a plus). So, with all that said, let us get into it.

We have already gotten past the halfway mark of the year. So, I thought it would be nice to take a look at some of the best films that have come out this year. Keep in mind that this list does not include Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation, because unfortunately I have not seen the movie yet (it is coming out a week later, AGAIN). With all that said, let’s cut the crap and get into the list.

#5 – Ant Man

Being small ain't that bad at all
Being small ain’t that bad at all

I was torn apart between this film and Age of Ultron, and even though I will admit, I found Age of Ultron a bit better in terms of scale and action, and a decent villain (yeah I liked the villain, Ultron). I ultimately chose Ant Man for 3 reasons,

  • It’s far smaller in scale than any other Marvel movie made
  • Has some of the most creative action scenes I have ever seen
  • It focuses on characters and inter personal relationships more (Guardians of the Galaxy may have done this a bit better, but Ant Man did a brilliant job nontheless)

Ant Man was an enjoyable film, to say the least. It’s thoroughly entertaining, heartfelt and hilarious. Regardless, it was another surprise from the studio giant, and I cannot wait for what they have in store for us next. I did have a few problems with it and for me, it did feel a lot like a Marvel film that was supposed to be made rather than a film that needed to be made.

#4 – Ex-Machina

Sci-fi done well
Sci-fi done well

Ex-Machina is what smart and well told sci-fi represents. The film was written by Alex Garland, who has a damn good history of writing sci-fi and post-apocalyptic movies like Sunshine and 28 days later. This was his directorial debut as well. So, it was only natural that I would be excited for it and boy, it delivered. The film does an amazing job of building up tension (although it does slow down the pace at times) that just adds to the unpredictable nature of this movie too. It has great writing, great performances by the leads (particularly Oscar Isaac) and, like all good sci-fi thrillers, it’ll leave you guessing what will happen next. Let me just hope that the Oscars do recognize this movie, unlike what they did with Moon (an incredibly underrated sci-fi flick that was snubbed at the oscars) in 2009.

#3 – Kingsman: The Secret Service

Manners Maketh Man
Manners Maketh Man

I will be honest, Kingsman is my favourite film from Matthew Vaughn. That’s saying something, seeing that he has directed a great film almost every time (Kick Ass, X-Men First Class, Layer Cake and Stardust). Kingsman is a film that pays homage to old spy films and at the same time gives a new take on them. It has great performances from Colin Firth, Samuel L. Jackson and Taron Egerton, It is self-aware and unapologetic. It has great action sequences (the church scene alone is worth the price of admission), a decent plot and above all, it is bloody entertaining.

#2 – Mad Max: Fury Road

Tom Hardy wears a mask (AGAIN)
Tom Hardy wears a mask (AGAIN)

Honestly, do I have to say anything about this movie? Anything?

Mad Max Fury Road is one of the best action films I have ever seen. It is filled with adrenaline fuelled chase scenes and good characters. It has a great performance by Charlize Theron, phenomenal world-building and magnificent direction. It is just near perfection when it comes to action films and is probably the best action film that has come out in the 2010s (I still need to see Rogue Nation). So, if you can’t tell by now, I love this movie. Plain and simple.

#1 – Inside Out

This picture kills me every time
This picture kills me every time
Inside Out is without a doubt is my favourite film of the year so far. It is one of Pixar’s best films and has some of the most creative, inventive and well thought out worlds I have ever seen. It has one of the best scripts written in years. It is relatable and it teaches us a very important lesson without ever beating its point over your head. Also, it has a great voice cast that perfectly fits with the characters they are playing. Anyways, it does what Pixar does best, telling us great stories and Inside Out does exactly that.

..

So, that’s my list, what are your favorite films of 2015 so far….is Rogue Nation any good, feel free to comment below.

2 thoughts on “The 5 BEST Movies of 2015 so far you simply CANNOT miss…

  1. Love your top 4 choices, especially Ex Machina, which had a really intriguing premise. Mad Max was absolutely barking mad, and I loved it for that. Though I wouldn’t quite agree with Ant-Man, I found it to be just average, but then again, I find that with almost every Marvel film. Though I do love Netflix/Marvel’s ‘Daredevil’ TV series, have you seen it?

    • Yes…I have seen the series and I loved it….it is my favorite T.V superhero show along with The Flash….I didn’t exactly love ant man…..but I really admired it quite a bit for how small scale it was, also 2015 hasn’t exactly been the best year for movies

Leave a Reply

