5 Questionable Scenes in GREAT Movies

We all have movies that we love and cherish, we love them unconditionally and praise them for however long we want to without ever considering its flaws. Because let’s face it guys, no film is perfect- it is all subjective. With all that said here are 5 not-so-good scenes in really good or at least decent movies.

ALSO..

SPOILER ALERT

5) They Track Down John Doe By Looking Through Library Records

That's all it took????
That’s all it took????

As much as I LOVE Se7en and the impact it had on the world of suspense thrillers, I could never find myself accepting this scene. A major problem with detective movies these days is trying to find a smart way to track down the villain and unfortunately, this movie faced the same problem as well. The scene I’m referring to is when our detectives are researching old library records. They are hoping to find information about a man named John Doe who constantly checks out books about the seven deadly sins. This leads to them finding out the mans’ hideout. I mean, seriously?! This guy could have been a wacko who likes researching sadistic stuff, I am interested in reading about such stuff as well (What?! I find such stuff interesting). My point is, it could have been anybody. The fact that the most notorious serial killer ever, who is smart and calculative, would end up being caught in one of the most odd and bizarre coincidences? Its just that I find that that hard to believe. It felt like a gigantic cop out in what was an otherwise well-directed, well-written and well acted film.

4) Fingerprints Off A Bullet?! (The Dark Knight)

The Dark Knight is one of the best superhero films we have ever seen, I think there are a lot of us who agree on that. But I don’t necessarily think the same applies for this particular scene. The scene involves Batman/Bruce Wayne scanning a bullet from one of the Joker’s crime scenes for fingerprints. The movie then follows a montage of him trying to recreate the scene. This eventually leads him to an apartment building, where a former patient of Arkham lives. Suspecting that the Joker is up to something, Bruce rushes to the place only to find police officers whose uniforms have been taken. Implying that some thugs (who probably work for the Joker) are pretending to be police officers in the march that is going on right next to the building. Okay, so my question is “What was the point?”. Here is why this scene does not work.

  • Bruce finds out about this, then what. When chaos ensues, he doesn’t try to do anything. He does not go down to the march to find the Joker and stop him.
  • What did the fingerprint help him achieve? He didn’t even get one step closer to the Joker.
  • Why was he even recreating the scene in the first place? You don’t get fingerprints while doing that.

You see what I am sayin’. It doesn’t really add up. I probably wouldn’t have complained about this scene had they not spent a good chunk of their time on it (it goes on for at least 10 minutes). Anyways, I still love the movie.

3) Cap deactivates the bomb in the last second (Captain America: The Winter Soldier)

Captain America 2 is one of my favorite Marvel movies to have come out yet. I thought it was a breath of fresh air in a wave of superhero films that were so big and bombastic and out of the world like Man of Steel and Guardians of the Galaxy. It was great to see something that was more grounded than most Marvel films. What I loved is that it really focused on Captain America as a character, his feelings, his emotions and not on the cool superhero-ey things he could do. It was surprisingly more character driven than I thought. Which is why the last act of the movie did feel a tad bit underwhelming (because it went big and bombastic). But it wasn’t until the scene where Captain America fights the Winter Soldier on the ship while trying to deactivate it before it launches all missiles and guns in many marked places. What bothered me about the scene was that it actually fell for the stupid “You have 2 seconds left to save the world” cliche. In a movie this well done, a scene like that feels incredibly cheap and generic. Again, I still love the movie, but I did find this scene a little agonizing for me.

2) Everyone dies (The Departed)

The Departed is one of the few films from Martin Scorsese that I LOVED (I admire Scorsese and his movies, it is just that I like them, don’t love them). So when I reached the conclusion of this movie, I remember watching it with my cousin and we both seemed to be loving it and once we reached the conclusion, we both were left puzzled and confused. Okay, so Leo dies (Wow! I did not see that coming). Then, Barrigan (the second mole in the unit) gets shot by Damon’s character (Okay?!). Then Matt Damon’s character get’s shot in the head (wait, what?!). I remember my cousin telling me “Bhai, sab logo ko goli mardiya director ne” (Brother, the director shot everyone).

Seriously, it’s so rushed and doesn’t give us enough time to contemplate what was going on (All of this happens in the last 20 minutes of the movie). When you are making a film that relies on so much tension and suspense, you rely on those aspects to make it more engaging. What worked about The Departed throughout was that it was a cat and mouse game that had no predictable outcome. The last 20 minutes ended up giving a little too much of a payoff and a little less build-up. When you have all these characters just killing each other, with no set up whatsoever, it doesn’t always work. I understand that it was done for shock value, but that doesn’t necessarily mean you have to do it over and over again to a point where it becomes almost laughable and that is what the last 20 minutes of this movie did.

1) “Let Keating Fry” (Dead Poet’s Society)

Dead Poet’s Society is a film that I have a love/hate relationship with. I do like the movie and damn it, I love Robin Williams (he is the reason I like it btw). However, I found that whenever the film cut away from him to focus on the students, I could care less about their problems because I found them to be incredibly exaggerated. I mean seriously, is this school a frickin’ prison or something?! But the scene that really got me incredibly angry and distasteful was the scene where Mr. Blondie (I am not bothering to write his name, I am sorry) reveals that he was the rat and he complained to the authorities of the school that Keating was apparently responsible for a certain incident that took place. It’s a scene that is implausible, awfully written and doesn’t even bother to explain why he has such a distaste towards Keating, the dialogue that comes out of his mouth is just cheesy (“Let Kating Fry?!” seriously???). It felt like a scene taken out of a B-movie. I don’t like it and I seriously don’t understand why this scene even made it to the final cut and that is why it is the worst scene in a good movie I have ever seen.

So, there it is guys. My list of terrible scenes in good movies. What did you guys think? Do you have reasonable counter arguments? Also..

Leave a Reply

