5 Things I Learned From MoviepilotU

Well, hi there. My name is Manas Rai. I recently joined the online course MoviepilotU and, I wanted to share something with you guys. you see, I was just some reviewer once upon a time who did all of this ‘reviewing’ as a hobby. But, as the weeks passed by, I realized that I loved doing this stuff. I learned that there was so much more I was supposed to do with what I have and I think you can too with what I am about to share with you. So, here are 5 major things I learned from MoviepilotU.

1) Learn to make your sentences short and to-the-point

This is one of the most important things that I learned here and if you are someone who has read my stuff, you would have noticed this change. In my earlier articles, I used to write paragraphs without having proper sentences. This was incredibly useful as it helped cater to a wider audience. Thanks MoviepilotU!

2) Never be too negative or condescending

Also a very important thing that I learned and this is something that I learned the hard way. Being too negative or judgmental doesn’t give you a good image to those who are reading your article. For example “This Sucks” would change to “This isn’t that good”. Try to be polite because being positive isn’t a bad thing at all.

3) The Title is Important

While this may seem like an obvious thing, the title is way more important than it may seem at first. Titles are your selling point. They provide the reader with a solid idea of what they are going to get when they read your article. While a title is certainly not everything, it is a great gateway to getting a good number of reads.

4) Read your article twice (at least)

Proof reading is a necessity when you want to write an article. You will have no idea how many mistakes my wonderful mentor was able to point out in my posts. In fact, you will be shocked with some of the mistakes you may have made. So yeah, proofreading is a necessity.

5) Be Interesting and write because you love to!

This is something I learned along the way. If you are writing an article for the sake of it, don’t. Do it because you are legitimately interested. Also, add your own angle to it. Try to show your end, not someone else’s. Even if your article is based off of someone else’s. Add memes and your your little punchlines, because they define your identity as a writer and in a community like Moviepilot, where there are tons of people writing and giving their spin on what they’ve written, it is an absolute must.

Have a cookie...
Have a cookie…

Well, that’s that my dear friends. Thank you so much for reading an article that wasn’t about movies. I hope you may have something to gain by reading this my fellow creators. To those who aren’t, I humbly thank you for reading anyway. Ladies, Gentlemen and others, that will be all for me. Until then,

Cheers…..and take care

Leave a Reply

